Just another WordPress.com weblog

Yoga Meltdown

Hey Hots and Fits!!

How is this week going? Things are so so in this part of the world. Weather is good then goes bad, then good again. I am still on vacay and still bored. And I am still not getting up in the AM to work out. Now that’s the biggest bummer of all. Need to do something about the 1 AM sleep time.

I wanted to let you guys know I recently received Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown.

Image

1 – Not too sure about the “Lose Up To 5 Pounds A Week” statement

Now, I have tried quite a lot of workout DVDs, not just by Jillian. I have a lot of Beachbody programs (Slim in 6, Insanity, P90X, ChaLEAN Extreme, Hip Hop Abs, One-on-One with Tony Horton…), some TaeBo (with Billy!), and so on and so on and so on, but I can honestly say that thus far (3 years?) Jillian is the only one who actually provides results. Oh, and running of course and a good, clean diet! Haha!

Anyhoo, I owe most of Jillian’s DVDs, including the 30 days shred (it was a huge challenge last year in the blogsphere), No More Trouble Zones and Banish Fat Boost Metabolism.

So, it only made sense that I would buy this Yoga DVD too. I personally hate yoga classes that tell you to relax and stretch and connect with your breath. I want a workout, not a meditation session.

Jillian does not disappoint.

The first session, Level 1, is 35 minutes long. It includes lots of sun salutations, core work etc. A lot of the basic poses of yoga.

The second session, Level 2, is 29 minutes long. Lots of advanced core work, balance, and reps. i.e. you hold a pose and then start repping it out, something I have never done in yoga before.

 

Overall, this is an awesome workout, whether you like Jillian or not. And its not just yoga, this is actually cardio-ish. You will be sweating. Guaranteed. Also, I am a serious fan of Dawnelle and her Yoga Sculpt lesson, but Jillian had me doing some poses I would never do before. Like Bridge-Reverse-Push-Up. That one was HARD!

 

Pros:

  1. Short and to the point
  2. Not a 10 minute lets meditate warm up. Seriously, I’d fall asleep.
  3. Good combination of cardio and yoga
  4. Even if you are new to yoga, there are plenty of modifications

Cons:

  1. You need strong wrists. Really.
  2. More toning rather than stretching
  3. There is not a very good mentioning of the poses. So at first it was a bit difficult to follow, especially since I have picked up a lot of the names by now

Post Workout Thoughts – Not as sore as I thought I would be (did the first half two days ago and the second half yesterday) but I do feel some muscles in my obliques and back. I should mention that I tend to be sore often (I do some serious kick butt workouts at least twice a week and switch my workouts almost every day) so maybe i am just used to the feeling in a way….

3 responses

  1. hey girlie!
    thanks for stopping by my blog, and for the sweet comment about my running! 🙂
    I loveee Jillian too…anything badass and booty kicking is great in my book! I used to enjoy and do hot yoga when I swam competitively in college while getting my undergrad, but I was always so tired after doing 2-practices before it! Now when I do yoga it’s not after kicking my butt in workout, and I find that I have way to much energy to do sun salutations and at slow paces!
    This DVD sounds perfect for incorporating yoga into my new ‘life’…I will definitely check this DVD out if I see it!!!
    I hope you are having a great weekend!
    xoxo!

    August 15, 2010 at 10:29 pm

  2. Pingback: La Mission: Paris « The Hot and Fit

  3. Pingback: Gone Wrong « The Hot and Fit

Leave a Reply

