Just another WordPress.com weblog

How Fit Are You?

Happy Sunday Hots and Fits!!

I am slowly but surly recovering from my sinusitis case. Its ridiculous that I find this illness worse than pneumonia. I am taking so many drugs it makes me want to sleep all the time. But I am back to working out so that’s a good thing!

Today I did ChaLEAN Extreme Fat Burn Challenge and holy crow it was the biggest sweat sesh I had this week. This is a seriously tough workout. I really gave it all I had!

Image

Jumping Jacks Variations

Image

Tons of lunging variations

Image

And of course, kick boxing!

I LOVE Chalene Johnson! She has such an awesome attitude and she is so energetic. You cannot possible miss a workout knowing she will be there (even though its on the screen, ha!). Her crew is great, too. So positive!

 

Afterwards I proceeded to trying Runner’s World How Fit Are You test. I didn’t do the entire thing because I didn’t want to go running, and it was too hot outside anyways, but here are my highlights (extracts taken from Runner’s World magazine!):

CORE STRENGTH

A strong core—the muscles in your abdominals, back, and glutes—gives you stability, power, and endurance. “If your core muscles can’t support your pelvis, it will drop, which causes your hips, knees, and ankles to lose proper alignment,” says Michael Fredericson, M.D., a professor of sports medicine at Stanford University. “When this happens, you can’t absorb forces appropriately, and your muscles fatigue quickly.”

TEST IT: Plank Get in plank position on your elbows. Your body should form a straight line from your head to your ankles. Once in position, time how long you can maintain it with perfect form (don’t let your hips hike up).

Image

MY RESULT: 1 MINUTE 30 SECONDS / 90 SECOONDS

UPPER-BODY STRENGTH

A strong upper body makes it easier for a runner to hold good form, which can improve running economy—how efficiently you use oxygen while running. “The more economical you are, the less oxygen you will use, and the longer you can sustain a given pace,” says Tom Holland, an exercise physiologist in New Canaan, Connecticut.

TEST IT: Push-Ups
Complete as many standard push-ups as possible, maintaining good form (don’t let your back sag).

Image

MY RESULT: 14 PUSH UPS. I suck at these. Can’t do them properly.

LOWER-BODY STRENGTH

The repetitive motion of running, in which you’re using the same muscles in the same way over and over again, can strengthen some muscles more than others. “An imbalance between opposing muscle groups, such as your quadriceps and hamstrings, can lead to muscle pulls and knee pain,” Holland says. “Strength training can balance out the lower body and prevent those types of injuries.”

TEST IT: Squat Test
Squat down until your glutes graze the seat of a chair. Return to standing. Repeat as many times as possible, maintaining perfect form (knees behind toes).

 

Image

MY RESULT: did 43. Could have done a few more. Lower body is one of my strong areas (I think!)

 

FLEXIBILITY

A flexible body is worth striving for–it’s more efficient, sees more gains in strength and endurance, enjoys more range of motion, and recovers more quickly. When your muscles are long and pliable, blood flows more freely. This means your muscles, ligaments, and tendons are better nourished and able to rebound faster after you run, says Cathy Morse, a yoga instructor and marathoner in Charleston, South Carolina.

TEST IT: Reclining Hand-to-Big-Toe Pose

Image

Bend your left knee, and draw your thigh in. Loop a strap or belt around the arch of your left foot, and hold an end of the strap in each hand. Straighten the leg as much as possible while pressing your heel toward the ceiling (shown at right). Walk your hands up the strap until elbows are straight. Gently bring your leg as close to your head as possible. Note the angle of the leg in respect to your grounded leg.

Image

MY RESULT: Suprisingly I got it to be 90 degrees. My sister (who was on the lookout) said my right leg can get closer to my head than my left. Imperfect flexibility.

 

BALANCE

Running is an intricate one-foot balancing act. To stay steady on your feet, nerve endings in your joints and muscles (called proprioceptors) sense changes in your body position. Improving your balance can enhance the ability of these proprioceptors to anticipate movement changes so your runs are smoother and faster. Besides, studies show that balance naturally declines with age if you don’t actively work on it.

TEST IT: Standing Stork

Image

1

Place your right foot against your left leg. Start timing. Stop timing when your left foot moves or you lose your balance. Repeat on the other side. Average the times.

Image

MY RESULT: Did 50 seconds. Could have gone longer. Heck, I do this pose with WEIGHTS, remember?

 

There are a few more tests to take which I didn’t take but I will be definitely checking in on this test more often. Check out the article for all the details – it also gives you options to improve each area!

 

Anyhoo, I am off to do some yoga (not sure which podcast yet) and then, people, I am off to play the apathetic football fanatic on this match:

2

And then tonight, my heart will be torn between two of my favourite countries (and football teams!!)

3

Peace out!!

Leave a Reply

