Just another WordPress.com weblog

Half Marathon Recap

Hey ya’ll!

 

I believe its been about a MONTH since I lasted posted. Wow. It is actually the end of March.

March, by the way, has been the most fabulous month thus far. And the year just started.

I got to travel for a few days to the Holy Land

Image

1, 2, 3

Seriously, have you ever seen a place this beautiful, where a church, mosque and synagogue all fit into one fantastically gorgeous picture? My favourite country in the world.

 

I also ran my first half marathon race EVER this past weekend. Honestly, this winter I have not really trained. When March came along, I did two 10Ks, one 15 K (on the morning of my flight – I cannot believe I was even able to walk after) and a 20.5 K 6 days before the race.

It was a mental challenge in a way. I knew I would definitely finish it, I just hoped it would be in less than 3 hours and that I will not be last! The latter really bothered me for some reason. Also, when I did the 20.5 K, I ran 17 (yes, that;s right, seventeen) laps around my neighbourhood. Way different when you are encircling a city. I didn’t know it was THAT small. It was also more hilly, and for some reason I felt like I had to pump extra hard on hills. I think it worked because I ended up passing quite a few runners.

The race itself was fabulous. It was so well organized I was quite surprised. Also, so many people came out to cheer (meant a lot for me as none of my family or friends bothered – I am still getting told off for even running it!!) and that created such a nice atmosphere.

I started about 9 minutes after the gun went off (cause there were so many participants). My delta time was 2 hours 35 minutes and 6 seconds. My real time was 2 hours 26 minutes and 2 seconds.

Image

And here I am, really happy to finally finish:

Image

 

The plan now is to see whether I can do the full during the first week of May. It means I am going to have to run at least 2 long runs within the next month, probably a 30 K and a 35 K. I am not too sure how this will work out though. I just want to finish, obviously…

2 responses

  1. you are such a rock star! i am sure you can do a full 🙂

    March 31, 2010 at 8:07 pm

  2. Thank you 🙂
    I am so glad to hear you have started on INSANITY!!! I hope you are liking it!

    April 7, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Leave a Reply

