Just another WordPress.com weblog

El Dia de San Valentin

Hey Hots and Fits!!

 

How are ya’ll doing? Big Valentine’s Day plans ? Nothing too romantic happening at this end. I know many people are going to hate me for saying this, but I absolutely do not get the point of Valentine’s Day. Its a highly commercialized holiday which encourages people to spend money. And besides, we do not need a calendar to celebrate love. We still love every day.

I was sent this interesting tale….Why Do We Celebrate Valentine’s Day?….so click on the link if you are interested.

 

On The Hot and Fit front I have thus far (in the last week) completed 3 of Insanity’s Max workouts. Because I am so in love with them, I thought I would post some reviews…

The main differences are the duration (60 minutes as opposed to the 40 minutes), the different drills during the warm up, and doing three different workout circuits as opposed to two (obviously cause its longer)

INSANITY MAX INTERVAL CIRCUIT

I did this workout twice this week. I was very nervous and scared and if it wasn’t for this lady who kept reassuring me that I would love it I would have probably postponed it some more.

The warm up started with the following drills:

  • Jog
  • Jumping Jacks – Arms Up
  • 123 Heisman
  • Jump Rope Side-to-Side
  • High Knees – Arms Out
  • Switch Kicks
  • Hit the Floor – Bend down at each side to touch the floor
  • Side-to-Side Floor Hops

First two sets are 4 minutes each, and the last set is 2 minutes

Image

Side-to-Side Floor Hops. You will be feelings your obliques. Oh yes.

 

Circuit #1

First circuit is 4 minutes, last two are 3 minutes, 30 seconds break in between.

  • Pedal/Power Lunges – sprint and do 4 lunges.
  • Ski Abs – Push Up Jacks – In and Out – Oblique Push Ups
  • Power Strike – punch twice left, twice right
  • Frog Jumps

Image

Power Strike

 

Circuit #2

First circuit is 4 minutes, last two are 3 minutes, 30 seconds break in between.

  • Hook Jumps – 4 hook punches high, 4 hook punches low, 4 high jumps. Switch sides.
  • High Knees with Elbow Twist – High Knees run with elbows moving from side to side.
  • High-Low Jab with Squat – Jump high and punch, squat down as you land and punch down.
  • Floor Switch Kicks – Kind of like a tricep dip position only you are kicking your feet up and down.

Image

Floor Switch Kicks

 

Circuit #3

First circuit is 4 minutes, last two are 3 minutes, 30 seconds break in between.

  • Side Suicide Jumps.
  • Squat Hooks – Squat and hook punch
  • Full Body Drill – run in place 8 times – walking push ups – 8 knee to elbow running in place.
  • Plank Punches – In a plank position, punch straight out, changing hands.

Image

Plank Punches. Abs, Shoulders, Arms…I cannot thing of something that was not burning.

 

There are also three “bonus” moves in between the sets, which last 30 – 50 seconds each.

 

INSANITY MAX PLYOMETRIC CIRCUIT

I did this workout yesterday. I don’t think I have ever done something that hard. I used to think my high school track workouts were tough. I am not too sure anymore…

The warm up started with the following drills:

  • Jog
  • Jumping Jacks – Arms Up
  • 123 Heisman
  • Jump Rope Side-to-Side
  • High Knees – Arms Out
  • Switch Kicks
  • Hit the Floor – Bend down at each side to touch the floor
  • Side-to-Side Floor Hops

First two sets are 4 minutes each, and the last set is 2 minutes

Circuit #1

First circuit is 4 minutes, last two are 3 minutes, 30 seconds break in between.

  • Switch Jumps
  • Squat Push Ups
  • Wide In – Out Abs
  • Power Jumps

Image

Squat Push Ups. Just when I thought I was starting to master normal push ups.

 

Circuit #2

First circuit is 4 minutes, last two are 3 minutes, 30 seconds break in between.

  • Pogo – standing on one foot, bend down to touch the floor then jump up using your arms
  • Power Push Ups – from Push Up position, jump up to bring finger to toes
  • Globe Twists
  • Level 3 Drills – 16 Push Ups, 16 Running in Place

 

Image

Pogo.

Circuit #3

This entire circuit lasts just over 6 minutes.

  • Side Push Ups – palms are in L shape
  • Kickstand Touch the Floor – similar to Pogo in a way
  • 8 Power Knees – 4 Diamond Jumps
  • Balance Push Ups

Image

Balance Push Ups. Total kick ass. I can’t even depict the feeling.

 

 

I have said this SO many times before – this program is a total kick ass. It is tough, it will make you so much stronger and it will make you that much leaner. Basically you get what you put in it (and I am not getting it 100% cause I am majorly slacking with my diet).

5 responses

  1. Great post!

    I ordered shakeology to add to my diet – by this summer I will be moving and shaking and feeling great! I am feeling good now, but adding the nutrients in shakeology daily will be kick ass!

    Katie

    Gong Xi Fa Cai – Happy New Year, Year of the Tiger

    February 14, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    • MNG

      I am so glad you are back to posting, lady~

      February 14, 2010 at 7:32 pm

  2. where can I get this video!!!!

    February 15, 2010 at 3:44 am

  3. Thanks lady!

    Insanity is my fav! I love how we motivate each other.

    Max workouts are crazy huh? Crazy endorphin rush!

    February 16, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

