Just another WordPress.com weblog

Raw Wanna Be

Hi people!!

Hope you all had a fabulous first week of February. I cannot believe how fast this year is flying by (for the record, my “year” starts in September).

I have been eating plenty of this:

Image

My bowl of yummy-goodness. I eat this every.single.morning. Sometimes I have cereals during the weekend.

 

Sweating plenty from this:

Image

INSANITY. How I love thee.

Spending too much time at the store buying these:

Image

Cauliflower florets, broccoli florets, wasa crackers, radish cheese spread, lettuce, ketchup, Yoplait, Gouda, Cheddar, canned blueberries and for the rest of the casa – nesquik, kitkats, twix…

And looking forward to this:

Image

INSANITY’s Max Interval Circuit

 

My fitness inspiration Katie said these are amazing. I am well into the program, and I am ready to tackle one of these. I could have probably started them sooner, but since I only follow the program 90% of the time (I mix in some P90X cardio workouts instead of Insanity recovery workouts) I thought I would do the first phase twice. So, I will try this workout tomorrow and see how it goes.

 

Part of the overall aim is to look this good in Daisy Dukes:

Image

Bar Rafaeli. Israeli model.

 

I know I always say Alessandra Ambrósio has the best body on this planet, and that Gisele Bundchen does too (although Ale is prettier in my opionion), but I must admit Bar doesn’t look bad either.

 

Random Question: Is anybody here a rawist or wanna-be rawist such as myself? I ask because I heard there is a raw rice alternative to cooked rice in sushi and I want to know what it is and how to make it. If you don’t know what the hell I am talking about, that’s totally cool.

Alright people, I am out. I am T-I-R-E-D. I need a lot of sleep. My body is demanding it.

8 responses

  1. *raises hand* <– I know what you're talking about! 😀

    I'm high raw right now. I've been 100% raw at various times over the past few years. I've also juice fasted extensively and have experienced weight loss and improved health due to raw, living foods, juices, and smoothies.

    I do know one raw alternative to the rice you speak of – it's cauliflower processed in a food processor until it's fine, like rice. 😉

    SO glad I came across your blog!!

    *smiles*
    Michele

    February 9, 2010 at 2:07 am

    • MNG

      Your site is very informative, thanks for linking!! I am really trying to go as raw as possible, but all my life I have been eating processed foods (some are healthy!) that it is so hard!

      February 11, 2010 at 9:32 pm

  2. Just stumbled onto your blog and love it! I haven’t heard of any raw rice alternatives (although the raw cauliflower sounds intriguing). I try to eat a good amount of raw, although not completely and find myself using a lot of raw soaked cashews pureed in the vitamix in recipes and if you just pulse until it’s course and not a paste that might do the trick too!

    February 9, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    • MNG

      I think I actually found a recipe! I need to try it first and then link it here!!
      I am hearing so many good things about the Vitamix – unfortunately it is not available here 😦

      February 11, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  3. Hey! This might be a bit late, but here’s some info on it. The raw rice alternative is usually raw cauliflower-based. For sushi, what you would do is use any kind of blender or food processor you have (you don’t need a good one- I’ve used older models, as well as a magic bullet. Just put less in when you blend it, or else it could get stuck) and just pulse some cauliflower until it gets grainy. You could add salt, pepper, or garlic if you just wanted it plain, or if you wanted you could keep going and add a bit of garlic and olive oil and have something like mashed potatoes. You’d need to keep it fairly dry for the rice, though, so stop when it gets grainy and you can just use it like that.
    You can also use things like parsnips or radish. You’d have to cut them yourself into long strips, though, or use a mandoline and then cut them into mini rice sized pieces.
    Good luck! I’ve been experimenting with raw foods for years now, so email me if you have any questions!

    PS. http://www.goneraw.com has a lot of good recipes, although a majority relies far too heavily on nuts and seeds to be actually healthy.

    March 2, 2010 at 5:41 am

    • MNG

      Hey thank you SO much for this! I am not much of a nuts and seeds fan so I know what you mean. I am now on the look for some seaweed, though.

      March 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm

  4. You’re welcome! That was one problem I had with a lot of the raw recipes that are available. Unfortunately, most people go right to that when they first try it, and then make themselves a bit sick. I’ve found you can actually sub in stuff like cauliflower and mushrooms for a lot of nut-based things.
    I personally love seaweed- if I could afford it, I’d be half living off the stuff. *wishes she lived by an ocean* Have you tried making zucchini pasta yet?

    March 2, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    • MNG

      Yea, seaweed is SO expensive where I live. There used to be a Korean store that sold them for really cheap but it closed down 😦

      March 4, 2010 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

