Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cereals and Portion Size

This past weekend, I betrayed my faithfulness to oatmeal and went for cold cereals.

I found that, with Shaun T kicking my ass during my mid-day workouts, oatmeal is not ideal.

I wish I had this variety to choose from, but I do not. Anyhow, if you are planning on a workout 2-3 hours after breakfast, you should keep it light. I know everybody is different, but my stomach definitely doesn’t handle it well otherwise. Here is what my bowl looked like:

IMG 5064

 

If you are wondering about quantities:

  • 60 – 70 grams of cereals. Yes, I never seem to get the portions on cereal boxes. 30 grams per serving? Really? I will be starving in an hour. I have 2-2.5 servings. I mixed my cereals, cause the one I got in Germany is pretty blahhh but at least the texture is different. The other kind I get here, its cinnamon flavor and very high in fiber.
  • Milk. I put about 150 ml worth. There is no skim milk where I live. Only 1.5% fat. In my home country, there is 3%. Gives you stomach pain if you over-consume it.
  • Banana. I used to hate bananas. But sometimes I find myself craving them. My favourite fruit is actually apple. I ate about 3 apples a day. Hey, its supposed to keep the doctor away!

 

Today was officially back to work here and the weather continues in its similar pattern. I was not even considering running this AM mainly because of the foot but also because of the weather. So I plugged in P90X‘s Kenpo X.

So on to The Spit: I skipped the warm up, because its not my type of thing. I don’t have a problem with people of do static stretches, but Jillian Michaels taught me that dynamic stretches are just as effective, take less time, and really get blood pumping through the body. Oh, and that saves about 12 minutes.

Kenpo X is supposed to be a Cardio workout, but my heart rate remains considerably low. I am still in the range, however here are the stats:

Duration: 50 minutes

Avg HR: 139 BPM

Max HR: 162 BPM

Calories: 370

As you can see, this is very different from INSANITY, but it offers a nice change.

The Hot is that I have never done kickboxing in my life but have always wanted to, and this definitely provided an opportunity. Its also really easy on your feet/knees (no jumping involved, besides occasional jumping jacks). There is very awesome move there, called the X. Its an X jumping jack. LOVE IT!

 

Anyhoo, The Hot and Fit is now headed towards dinner. Check out the ChaLEAN review – and let me know what you think!

 

Sig

2 responses

  1. Hey dear

    sometimes I swap kenpo for my recovery day. It’s a fun workout! I’m thinking of trying the insanity warm up then kenpo as it’d be a higher intensity workout that way.

    I did max interval circuit at lunch today. Kicked my butt!

    January 4, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    • MNG

      That’s actually a very good idea! It is a great recovery workout!

      January 5, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

