Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rounding Up 2009: Favourite Health Magazine

About a year and a half ago I began to read health magazines religiously. It was like my own personal reading pleasure: all of my exercise obsessions put together!

Since I do not live in the US of A, I was checking which magazine would actually deliver the magazine to my whereabouts, at a decent price (most are probably not aware of this, but you usually end up paying triple the price of the purchase for delivery. VERY UNFAIR!)

Anyways, Runner’s World was way out of my budget, and same went for Women’s Health. I didn’t like Shape too much but I did like SELF and I got that.

So I had that for a year or so, but then I got tired of it. It was repetitive.

Image

Image

Image

1, 2, 3

Lose Weight in Just 3 Weeks!

Got Flat Abs – FAST!

Your Best Body in 2 Months !

There is nothing wrong with these claims, all marketing considered. However, it delivers the wrong message to me personally. This is because I do not announce a project in my head to lose 10 lbs in a month, or to lose weight in X days. I am committed to my health, I am committed to my best healthy self, and I do this all the time (well, of course, there are times when I am not perfect, but isn’t everybody like that?)

Also, there seemed to be far too many advertisements. I know they gotta afford the low postage costs, but come on…

So I cancelled SELF and just started getting stuff from magazine’s webpages. A lot of SELF‘s workouts are available on their site, and the same goes for Women’s Health. You just gotta browse through.

At the moment I am doing Women’s Health Skinny Jeans Workout, which is set out over 6 weeks (I am taking longer cause I do not actually have the time) – and let me just say, I am SO much more flexible.

Image

1

Back to the point of this post – Fitsugar announced Women’s Health as the readers’ favourite health magazine of 2009. I bet it also has a lot of ads.

 

Peace out

Sig

4 responses

  1. Have you seen OXYGEN magazine lady?

    I should send you some magazines so they aren’t so darn expensive.

    December 26, 2009 at 12:14 am

    • MNG

      No, I have never heard of it before!
      I am going to try and look for it online!

      December 26, 2009 at 12:47 am

  2. Don’t let the cover scare you – the girls are kind of overly ripped sometimes but the exercise advice is awesome!

    December 26, 2009 at 1:16 am

  3. Pingback: Health Safety: Powerful Nutrients to Enhance Women’s Health | Health Safety Zone

Leave a Reply

