Just another WordPress.com weblog

Get Hot and Fit: Pure Cardio + Shoulders and Arms

Merry Christmas Eve, people!

Image

1

Where I live, this is seriously the only 24 hours during the year that everything shuts off. Can really hear the silence! PATHETIC oxymoron, I know.

Inspired by the most amazing Katie (can’t thank the girl enough for introducing me to Insanity!) I actually got two work outs done today! Yes!!

P90X’s Shoulders and Arms

Image

2

Very important: I only used 1 kg dumbbell in each hand. This significantly impacts the workout.

It was not hard given the light weights, but I was able to do more reps, which compiles with my liking of the Tracy Anderson Method.

So, The Hot? Loved the Crouching Cohen Curl, the classic chair dips that still kill me, and the fact that despite it being 57 minutes, time flew by. The Spit? Not sure it works well if you don’t have a variety of weights/resistance bands (though I need to test this claim, so do not take my word for it), I will see how sore I am tomorrow morning. Also, there was one exercise, the Side-Tri Rises, which despite watching Tony and his crew doing it twice, I still don’t think I got it. I seemed to be working my obliques instead of my triceps for some reason…

Insanity’s Pure Cardio

Image

3

My gosh!!!! This thing keeps getting better and better! If you want a REAL workout DVD, involving some serious cardio, GET THIS!!! I have been on the hunt for a proper at home workout involving cardio for SO long, until this amazing lady introduced me to Insanity! And it is just as good as it claims to be!

But I need to stop rambling about this! This workout had my Polar working hard! And my heart, obviously. I was ranging between 169 – 186 BPM.

Again, I continue to emphasize that this workout is only for individuals that have been working out for quite some time now!

 

In Shaun-T words, peace out!

Sig

5 responses

  1. You are kicking butt!!!

    I have been saying I need to by a heart rate monitor for years and I STILL don’t have one!

    How’s the calorie burn on the workouts? I’ve been guessing but I really have no clue.

    I am a brides maid in a wedding this summer and I think shoulders and arms is perfect for shaping up my upper body for the dress….

    December 25, 2009 at 3:31 am

    • MNG

      I really liked Tracy A for shoulders and arms…did you ever try one of her workouts? I should have some tear outs laying around somewhere, do let me know if you would like me to scan them for you!

      December 25, 2009 at 10:56 am

  2. I tried max interval circuit this morning, kicked my butt!

    Thanks for the scans I have so much stuff to send you about workouts and health food (I used to work at whole foods).

    Katie

    December 25, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    • MNG

      Oh! For Europeans, there are WH markets only in the UK! London has a bunch! I have never been to one in the US so I can’t be sure whether it is similar!!

      December 25, 2009 at 9:46 pm

  3. Pingback: Heart Rate and Beachbody | The Hot and Fit

Leave a Reply

