Just another WordPress.com weblog

Get Hot and Fit: Beachbody's Insanity

How’s your weekend been, Hots and Fits?

Yesterday was a crazy day here! Despite the fact that I do not celebrate Christmas, I totally get sucked in the festives! I was at the mall for about 5 hours yesterday! Phew, so exhausting!

The snow situation is still the same here. As a matter of fact, its not getting any better, and neither are my nerves. I am trying to convince one of my home dwellers to help me stick the screws in my shoes but he says he has a feeling they will end up penetrating my foot and that’s a nasty picture. Heck yea, it is.

So, I told you before how I did two of the P90X workouts in the last couple of days, and while reading Katie’s blog, I noticed she was doing the Insanity workouts.

Image

1

Never heard of them before, but I thought I would look into them and see whether I should give it a shot. Many of the DVDs had the word “cardio” written on them, and I am such a cardio whore, I had to give this a try.

It is supposed to be a 60-Day Total Body Conditioning Program which consists of 10 workouts.

Here is a list of the workouts included:

1. Dig Deeper & Fit Test
2. Plyometric Cardio Circuit
3. Cardio Power & Resistance
4. Cardio Recovery
5. Pure Cardio & Abs
6. Cardio Abs
7. Core Cardio & Balance
8. Max Interval Circuit
9. Max Interval Plyo
10. Max Cardio Conditioning & Abs

Basically, this is a 2-month program that is pretty hard core.

Image

2

The thing that bums me is that I know I would not be able to stick to it for 2 whole months. I suppose I could overcome the bordem factor but the crucial factor is the fact that I want to run.

Image

3

Shaun T, the instructor, is a really nice and very good looking in my opinion, I like him more than the Tony Horton from P90X.

3613456933 ea7a9bbbbb

4

I just did the Fit Test today, which is the first part of the program. I briefly skimmed through it last night, and it looked hard. However, doing it was insanely hard!

Here are my results (this is a 25 minute workouts including warm up, 1 minute for each drill, 1 minute resting between drills, and finally a cool down:

Image

Again – this was hard. My HR sky-rocketed to about 196 BPM during some of these exercises. And I put myself in a high place whenever fitness endurance is considered (that’s actually a lie, I am not that tough…)

I am supposed to do this test again in two weeks. If I were to stick to the program, I should see some serious changes. Anyways, it does not look like the snow will melt in the next day or so, thus I shall probably do another one of these workouts tomorrow.

Peace out, I am off on a cleaning mission!

Sig

13 responses

  1. HEY! YIPPPEEE!!!

    Let me know if you try any of the other workouts! PLEASE! I would love to chat with you about them!

    I follow 5 days of Insanity and 2 days of P90X. Instead of the recovery workout I did p90X shoulders/arms and instead of the day off I add a p90X workout – I just started tweaking it a little. We are strict on the other 5 workouts during the week at work, but yesterday I did Core Synergistics from P90X and today I did Kenpo from P90X.

    Tomorrow back on Insanity. Honestly my heart rate sky rockets too during Insanity, much higher than I have in p90X. But I think variety is key!

    After the 60 days I am moving into a hybrid program which will have 3 days of Insanity and 4 days of p90X or something along those lines.

    I may do another workout today from p90x just to sample another because I am snowed in!

    Talk soon,

    Katie
    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/2009/12/slim-secrets-bars-giveaway-extended.html

    December 20, 2009 at 8:50 pm

  2. Oh tip – the first few times I did the workouts I modified them- you may not have to but I did – for example instead of the plyo front kicks where you hop in between I just did standing front kicks….and instead of power squats towards the last section I did standing squats…it does get easier though I swear within 2 weeks you can progress into doing so much more than the beginning.

    December 20, 2009 at 8:53 pm

  3. I am so psyched you tried Insanity! seriously!

    I actually mix p90x in…yesterday I did p90x core syn and today I did p90x kenpo. But during the work week we follow the 5 day schedule then tweak on our own.

    After the 60 days I am doing a insanity/p90x hybrid so there is even more variety.

    Let me know how you like the workouts!!!!

    Katie

    December 20, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    • MNG

      I am definitely going to be doing more of them! You are so right – they are amazing! I am so glad I found your blog!

      Thus far I have only done Kenpo and Interval X from P90X because a) I have only one pair of 1kg dumbbells and b) I want to get resistance bands but haven’t done so yet!

      December 20, 2009 at 9:30 pm

  4. I tried p90x Core Synergistics yesterday – you only need really light weights and a towel – it’s kick ass too.

    I ordered Tony Horton 1-on-1 Intervals on Saturday, I hope I like it.

    I love the dvds because I don’t get bored! Sometimes I dread even 30 minutes on an elliptical now.

    December 20, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    • MNG

      I will try it tomorrow, then! I also really want to do another one from Insanity!

      Please let me know how the 1-on-1 with Tony is. He is quite chatty but he gives a good workout, too!

      December 20, 2009 at 10:20 pm

  5. Pingback: The Floor Next to My Bed | The Hot and Fit

  6. Pingback: And So The Craze Continues | The Hot and Fit

  7. Pingback: Core Synergistics | The Hot and Fit

  8. I can see how Insanity and P90X would make an awesome mix. I’ve done P90X and am doing ChaLEAN Extreme right now. It sounds like you’re hooked on the results, focus, and challenge of Beachbody workouts. Think about coaching? Julie

    December 23, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    • MNG

      I am certainly hooked!!!
      Yea, I heard about coaching, but I am not from the US actually. If Beachbody came to Europe, I’d definitely be interested 😉

      December 25, 2009 at 9:00 pm

  9. Pingback: Get Hot and Fit: Pure Cardio + Shoulders and Arms | The Hot and Fit

  10. Pingback: Heart Rate and Beachbody | The Hot and Fit

Leave a Reply

