Just another WordPress.com weblog

Archive for December 16, 2009

When Its Not In Our Control

Happy Humpday Hots and Fits!

Thank God this week is flying by! Only two more days of work here!

Today was a planned cross training day for me which was convenient cause it was quite cold outside. Mostly it was convenient because, as I previously stated, my right ankle is itching me a bit.

1

Instead I did a P90X video, called Interval Plus. I have the P90X DVDs but I do not actual follow them mainly because its quite time consuming and because I do not have the necessary equipment.

I honestly liked this DVD, and thought it definitely worked many muscle groups I do not normally work and there were certainly intervals there. I actually skipped the warm-up (about 4 minutes long) to do my own dynamic stretches, but then I did the remaining 36 minutes. The deal is, you start a routine (each “drill” lasting approximately 40 – 60 seconds) and then do the whole routine again, in reverse

Stats:

Time: 50 minutes

Avg HR: 169 BPM

Max HR: 181 BPM

Calories Burned: 421

 

I have been thinking a lot about my training and running in general today (happens usually when there is a running off day…I am completely addicted!). I realised I want to run and obviously I have to run, but most importantly, my will overpowers the fact that I have to, which is a good thing.

The reason I say “have to” is because I signed up for the races

I also realised, that, unfortunately, I am not a fan of the cold or the dark and that presents a sort of burden. I am comforted by the fact that before (2-3 years ago) the 5 AM wake up call bothered me and it no longer does. Perhaps, with time, the weather and season won’t be an issue. Nevertheless, the consequences that may occur are important. I may get sick (hopefully not pneumonia again, but my nose is runny and I am coughing), I may get injured (right now I am sitting with an elastic band around my ankle) and so the list goes on.

I don’t think I will run tomorrow because the roads look like this:

Picture115

1

Then again, I do try to tell myself that it could be a lot worse. Well, it will all get better with time.

 

Sig


Rounding Up 2009: Favourite Form of Cardio

1

…and if it weren’t running, I would not have even bothered putting it up here!

Just kidding! Even though I am absolutely addicted to running, I still like other forms of cardio like swimming, kickboxing and elliptical-ing (assuming that may be considered as a verb!)

FitSugar readers picked running as their favourite form of cardio for 2009. The other options were

  • Brisk walking
  • Biking and spinning
  • Hiking
  • Swimming
  • Cardio machines (elliptical, StepMill, rowing machine, etc.)
  • Playing sports
  • Cardio classes
  • Jumping rope
  • Cross-country skiing and snow shoeing

There are so many reasons why I like running…sometimes it doesn’t make much sense to me, especially because it is 5AM and its dark and cold outside. But I always feel SO.FREAKING.GOOD after a run! Especially after speed training for some reason!

Sig